Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 7

The bear and the nightingale : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The bear and the nightingale : a novel

Arden, Katherine (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 1101885939
  • ISBN: 9781101885932
  • ISBN: 9781101885932 : HRD
  • ISBN: 1101885939 : HRD
  • ISBN: 9781101885932 (Hardcover)
  • ISBN: 1101885939 (Hardcover)
  • ISBN: 9780399593284 (International edition)
  • ISBN: 0399593284 (International edition)
  • ISBN: 9781785035234
  • ISBN: 1785035231
  • Physical Description: print
    322 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Del Rey, [2017]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: "A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. After Vasilisa's mother dies, her father goes to Moscow and brings home a new wife. Fiercely devout, city-bred, Vasilisa's new stepmother forbids her family from honoring the household spirits. The family acquiesces, but Vasilisa is frightened, sensing that more hinges upon their rituals than anyone knows. And indeed, crops begin to fail, evil creatures of the forest creep nearer, and misfortune stalks the village. All the while, Vasilisa's stepmother grows ever harsher in her determination to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or confinement in a convent. As danger circles nearer, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed--this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse's most frightening tales. Advance praise for The Bear and the Nightingale : "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic."--Robin Hobb, bestselling author of the Fitz and the Fool trilogy. "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted"--
Subject: Young women Fiction
Villages Fiction
Good and evil Fiction
Spirits Fiction
Magic Fiction
Russia Fiction
Villages Fiction
Genre: Fantasy fiction.
Science fiction.
Fantasy fiction.

Available copies

  • 40 of 43 copies available at Bibliomation. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Woodbury Public Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 43 total copies.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Woodbury Public Library FIC ARDEN (Text) 34018139339321 Adult Fiction Available -

Electronic resources


Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 1101885939
The Bear and the Nightingale : A Novel
The Bear and the Nightingale : A Novel
by Arden, Katherine
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

The Bear and the Nightingale : A Novel


Katherine Arden's bestselling debut novel spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. "A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up."--Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted Winter lasts most of the year at the edge of the Russian wilderness, and in the long nights, Vasilisa and her siblings love to gather by the fire to listen to their nurse's fairy tales. Above all, Vasya loves the story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon. Wise Russians fear him, for he claims unwary souls, and they honor the spirits that protect their homes from evil. Then Vasya's widowed father brings home a new wife from Moscow. Fiercely devout, Vasya's stepmother forbids her family from honoring their household spirits, but Vasya fears what this may bring. And indeed, misfortune begins to stalk the village. But Vasya's stepmother only grows harsher, determined to remake the village to her liking and to groom her rebellious stepdaughter for marriage or a convent. As the village's defenses weaken and evil from the forest creeps nearer, Vasilisa must call upon dangerous gifts she has long concealed--to protect her family from a threat sprung to life from her nurse's most frightening tales. Praise for The Bear and the Nightingale "Arden's debut novel has the cadence of a beautiful fairy tale but is darker and more lyrical." -- The Washington Post "Vasya [is] a clever, stalwart girl determined to forge her own path in a time when women had few choices." --The Christian Science Monitor "Stunning . . . will enchant readers from the first page. . . . with an irresistible heroine who wants only to be free of the bonds placed on her gender and claim her own fate." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Utterly bewitching . . . a lush narrative . . . an immersive, earthy story of folk magic, faith, and hubris, peopled with vivid, dynamic characters, particularly clever, brave Vasya, who outsmarts men and demons alike to save her family." -- Booklist (starred review) "An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale . . . The Bear and the Nightingale is a wonderfully layered novel of family and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic." --Robin Hobb
Back To Results
Showing Item 1 of 7

Additional Resources